New Year

Music: Rihanna is playing shuffled on my iTunes library.

  • California King Bed (This song is so completely underrated)
  • Phresh Out The Runway (also REALLY cool)
  • American Oxygen (Rihanna’s latest song, different than her others)
  • Sos (Her second ever popular song to “Pon de Replay”)

Time: 6 something or other PM

The day of my thirteenth birthday was probably the best birthday I have ever had. It was like I had a huge future ahead of me that was nothing but fun. I told myself that everyday afterward would be exciting, beautiful and wonderful. I’m actually glad I’m not twelve anymore. Twelve didn’t suck, but thirteen doesn’t either. In fact, being thirteen is the most awesome thing. Same with the fact that we’re in the first days of January, 2016, and 2015 had its ups and downs, but now we have a clean slate. This will be unbeknownst to us

I’m writing this on New Year’s Day. When I woke up this morning, I looked out the window, after opening my eyes, and then realized that it was 2016. YES! When I got up, BBC News World Service was playing, and the page was open to the BBC website. Dang. First of all, there was a picture of a skyscraper on fire, and a title that read “Dubai Skyscraper Fire”. The man talking on the radio began rattling off an endless list of the horrible, gruesome, gory, violent, and sad events that had occurred today. Well, not this year. I thought.

I really don’t want to be cynical, but there is no such thing as world peace, and that is something we are all going to have to accept. It just isn’t possible. Even if somebody could become Queen of the World, they wouldn’t be able to say. “OK, war’s over. Everybody be peaceful now. NOBODY is allowed to be mean or be violent or kill anybody else. Nope. Not allowed. Done.” Peace still wouldn’t happen.

But I’m not going to a pessimist without making some sort of solution. We can’t make everybody else peaceful, but we certainly can be peaceful ourselves. Make a playlist of your favorite songs, or push one of your favorite albums into the CD player, and then play around with art supplies.

2016 is a new year. Be peaceful. Be happy. It’s time for everybody to get a fresh start.

 

 

