July Favorites

Hi!

I just returned from the airport after a week-long trip. I’m exhausted and sitting on my bed. The flight was rather delayed as it had a problem with the air conditioning of all things. We took off nearly three hours after we were supposed to, because fixing the air conditioning required not only the maintenance but also the paperwork!

Because of vacation, this post is rather belated, but here it is, enjoy.

Book

Aside from a variety of non-fiction books I’ve been reading I recently have been enjoying “The Invention of Wings” by Sue Monk Kidd. It is about two girls from the 19th century one a slave and the other the daughter of the slave’s owner. Their paths veer apart and the book shows the pain of passing time and the struggles of the sexism and racism of that century. I am not finished, and only have a few more pages left to go, but so far it has made quite and impression and I really enjoyed it. Previously I’ve read one of Sue Monk Kidd’s other novels, “The Secret Life Of Bees” and really loved it too.

Activity

Making media in general. I have been experimenting a lot with my Macbook and I’ve been making shows, movies and music videos with iMovie as well as a lot of random songs with GarageBand with my sister. Those are some of my favorite ways to get creative.

Music

***Flawless (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie) – Beyoncé

This is an empowering feminist song featuring recitations by the author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Although I’m a little late on the “I Woke Up Like This” bandwagon, I love having it on my phone to play when I really need a confidence boost, (I also love the Nicki Minaj remix)

Into You, Greedy, and Bad Decisions – Ariana Grande

These catchy anthems were perfect to listen to on hot summer days.

Rise – Katy Perry

Katy Perry was my introduction to pop music back when I was eleven. I was always listening to her song Roar and enthusiastically watching the music video on repeat. After basically memorizing Katy Perry’s entire catalogue, buying her album Prism on a CD and calling myself more a KatyKat than a Swiftie (I still love you Taylor! I own copies of all your albums.) I was already waiting and waiting for the moment I opened the iTunes store to find Katy Perry with a new single on display. Then one Friday, it finally came. Roar 2.0. I’ve been listening to it since the day it came out!

Bad Girls – M.I.A.

This song is so fun. When I learned it what it was about I found it even better. No it is NOT about drugs, it is about the liberation of Middle Eastern women in a society in which they are oppressed.

Products

As I mentioned, I am a KatyKat. I was really happy to get her KatyKat Lip Matte lipstick in Kitty Purry. It is a very subdued color but goes perfectly with my look, and is named after Katy Perry’s cat, and the name of the tiger in her Roar music video.

One thought on “July Favorites

What do you think?

