Sick again but still alive

Right now I’m lying in bed sipping tea on a Thursday morning and not being at school. I don’t know if that is a good thing or a bad thing because if I miss school my grades will drop but lying in a tangle of silky sheets pillows and my giant down comforter with sunny air coming through my open door is quite relaxing.

Throwback to winter break. I had just finished a study-intensive course which I’d come out of with an A+ and was feeling very proud of. I was going to use Christmas break to fly to my Grandma’s house of whom I love spending time with my dad (her ex-son-in-law) was also staying with us because even though he her ex-son-in-law they get along really well and both my dad and I didn’t want her to be lonely over Christmas.

Anyway, I was feeling very excited for my hard-earned break, so after my plane landed, I met my dad at the terminal (he’d just come back from Costa Rica an hour earlier and my Grandma drove us to her house in her Subaru.

The first night, Grandma and I listened to Christmas music while we broke out 100-year-old family heirloom Christmas ornaments some made from recycled materials during the Great Depression when her family had nothing, some even from her Grandmother. Then we sat on the couch with the dogs and watched cheesy Hallmark Channel Christmas movies while my dad rested. 

So, as you can tell, my vacation got off to a lovely start, in fact my dad and I spent the next day driving around in a convertible Mercedes which he was borrowing from my cousin. 

That night, I had a fever. I was very sick and everyday it got worse. That same night, my dad had a painful ear infection from Costa Rican ocean parasites. I spent all of Christmas break including Christmas day sleeping. Grandma spent all of Christmas taking care of my dad and I. 

By the time I had recovered, school had started again. 

The point is, I’m done being sick. If you don’t want to be sick, don’t go to school or fly on a plane. 

Anyway, what was two nighhts ago uncontrollable shiver attacks from a fever which froze my speech and ability to do almost anything is now a stuffy nose. Hopefully I’ll be better by the weekend.

2 thoughts on “Sick again but still alive

What do you think?

